The Abbey of Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole

20 minutes from the Domaine du Lambon, take the opportunity to visit the abbey church in Saint-Maixent-l'École in the Deux-Sèvres region.

Built on the remains of two religious buildings from the 7th and 11th centuries, the current abbey church is a magnificent blend of Romanesque and flamboyant Gothic styles. Extremely light and bright, its gigantic vaults rise to 24 metres, offering a magnificent view. Rebuilt in the 12th century in the classical Romanesque style and destroyed during the Hundred Years' War, the church was largely rebuilt in 1670 under the direction of the architect François "Toscane" Leduc, who also designed the Abbey of Celles-sur-Belle.

Vitraux de l'Abbatiale de Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole dans les Deux-Sèvres
View availability and book

Data :

Olydea - Domaine du LambonLieu-dit Pied l'Ouaille
79370 Prailles-La Couarde
Holiday resort : 05 49 32 85 11Central booking office : +33(0)4 48 20 03 19GPS : Latitude 46.300806 Longitude -0.206583

Opening :

Open from 01/06/21 to 01/11/219AM-12AM / 4PM-7PM - July-August : 9AM-12AM / 4PM-8PM

Our other destinations :

Currently on Olydea :